Air Still is a musical setting of two haiku by Kobayashi Issa and Matsuo Bashõ. The poems were originally suggested by my Japanese language teacher during my stay at Kushiro in Japan, a city famous for its most beautiful sunsets.


The music focuses on the imagery of stillness and floating clouds circling the setting sun very much reminiscent to what I experienced first-hand at Kushiro.


First performance: 4 November 2013, Vafopouleio Cultural Hall, Greece, Shie Shoji, Naomi Sato.

Air Still (voice & sho)

AIR STILL (2013) for female voice and sho. Duration: 7 minutes
  • Date:2nd November 2013
  • Category:
    Music Score
  • Tag: